Blends by Orly, gluten-free flour blends

Blends by Orly, gluten-free flour blends

Blends by Orly is a relatively new line of five gluten-free flour blends. They are not cake or baking mixes. These flour blends are to be used as a one-to-one replacement for wheat flour in any recipe.

Blends by Orly is a relatively new line of five gluten-free flour blends.

Blends by Orly is a relatively new line of five gluten-free flour blends.

The five flour blends are a culmination of gluten-free experiments that Orly the Baker, a French pastry chef trained at Le Cordon Bleu in Sydney, tested during her years living in Paris, Sydney, New York, London and Tuscany.

Each blend corresponds to the culinary delights and region’s signature foods of that city. For example, the Tuscany is an ideal blend for pizza crust, while the Sydney is perfect for brownies, muffins, pies and more.

The Tuscany is an ideal blend for pizza crust.

The Tuscany is an ideal blend for pizza crust.

I was provided with a sample pouch of the Tuscany and the Sydney flour blends. I decided to test out the Sydney blend by making the crust for a tomato and turkey bacon quiche.

The Sydney is perfect for brownies, muffins, pies and more.

The Sydney is perfect for brownies, muffins, pies and more.

I followed the instructions provided on Orly’s website for making the crust dough. It was extremely easy as all the ingredients were placed into the food processor and within a few minutes formed a dough disk.

I followed the instructions provided on Orly’s website for making the quiche crust dough - it was very easy!

I followed the instructions provided on Orly’s website for making the quiche crust dough – it was very easy!

After allowing the dough to rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, I rolled it out into a 9-inch circle to fit into my quiche pan.

I rolled it out into a 9-inch circle to fit into my quiche pan.

I rolled it out into a 9-inch circle to fit into my quiche pan.

I will admit I had some difficulty transferring the dough to the pan, but not blaming the flour-blend or dough – more my non-expert baking skills. I recovered and managed to form it nicely into the pan.

I formed it nicely into the quiche pan.

I formed it nicely into the quiche pan.

After baking it as instructed, I removed it from the oven and readied the filling.

The quiche crust is partially-baked and ready for the filling.

The quiche crust is partially-baked and ready for the filling.

The quiche-filling recipe appears in my “recipes” section. While that recipe calls for ham and broccoli, you can easily substitute tomato and cooked turkey bacon, which I did.

I filled the quiche crust with a tomato and turkey-bacon mixture with some fresh scallions.

I filled the quiche crust with a tomato and turkey-bacon mixture with some fresh scallions.

I like to embellish my quiche with some of the key items in the filling so you know what’s inside.

I like to embellish my quiche with some of the key items in the filling so you know what’s inside.

I like to embellish my quiche with some of the key items in the filling so you know what’s inside.

After baking for 40-45 minutes, the quiche is done when you can insert a knife into the center and it comes out clean.

The tomato and turkey-bacon quiche is cooked and ready for dinner!

The tomato and turkey-bacon quiche is cooked and ready for dinner!

I paired it with sliced cucumbers, fresh fruit and wheat berry. It was delicious and tasted the same as an all-purpose white flour pie crust. I look forward to what creations I will make with the Tuscany blend.

I paired it with sliced cucumbers, fresh fruit and wheat berry - a nice healthy dinner!

I paired it with sliced cucumbers, fresh fruit and wheat berry – a nice healthy dinner!

Blends by Orly is packaged in 20-ounce re-sealable, zipper-top bags. It has a 12-month shelf life. Each bag has a recipe on the back, and there are many other recipes, baking tips and videos on the www.blendsbyorly.com website.

The flour blends are certified gluten-free and kosher, as well as dairy free and nut free. The product is sold in some retail supermarkets in select states and is available to purchase through the BlendsbyOrly.com website and through Amazon.

The flour blends are certified gluten-free and kosher, as well as dairy free and nut free.

The flour blends are certified gluten-free and kosher, as well as dairy free and nut free.

 

Have you ever baked with gluten-free flour?

What’s your favorite baking recipe?

 

Disclaimer:  While I was provided with a complimentary sample of Blends by Orly gluten-free flour blends, the opinions and views expressed above are my own and describe my personal experience

Leave a Reply

